Sixth Form Transition Work 2020/2021

As students who have applied to DPA Sixth Form, we have uploaded resources for you to support you in your successful transition to Key Stage 5 courses.

We are asking all applicants to complete the work for 4 of these courses (3 top choices and 1 reserve) – the ones that you wish to study at DPA Sixth Form. Undertaking these transition tasks should help you in your discernment process, helping you to decide if you are truly interested in the course and if you have the potential to be successful in this subject. The work will also help you to prepare for the course, by equipping you with the required baseline skills and knowledge you need, as well as the independent learning skills needed for Sixth Form more generally.

The work you submit will be checked for quality and quantity, and DPA Sixth Form teachers will be assessing it to check your suitability for the course. As you can see from the attachment, these are included in the Sixth Form entry criteria.

As far as enrolling in DPA Sixth Form, here is the plan going forward:

  1. Continue to work with Sixth Form subject teachers to complete and submit the transition tasks set for your 4 subjects (3 top-choices plus 1 reserve). These are a compulsory element of your transition and will be accounted for on Enrolment Day.

Tasks can be submitted via this webpage (this capacity will be provided from May 15th) or via email.

Transition Tasks

Work can either be submitted via this webpage (this will be possible from Friday 15th May) or via email.  Any queries or to submit work please send directly to the Lead Teachers as below:

Art, Craft and Design - Ms Dawson (g.dawson@dittonparkacademy.co.uk)

Biology - Ms Hayer (j.hayer@dittonparkacademy.co.uk)

Business Studies - Ms Kular (t.kular@dittonparkacademy.co.uk)

Chemistry - Ms Hayer (j.hayer@dittonparkacademy.co.uk)

Computer Science - Mrs Ndugutu (s.ndugutu@dittonparkacademy.co.uk)

Design & Technology - Product Design - Mr Soor (k.soor@dittonparkacademy.co.uk)

Drama & Theatre Studies - Miss Seymour (c.seymour@dittonparkacademy.co.uk)

Economics - Ms Nagra (r.nagra@dittonparkacademy.co.uk)

English Language - Miss Cornford (g.cornford@dittonparkacademy.co.uk)

Engllish Literature - Miss Cornford (g.cornford@dittonparkacademy.co.uk)

Food Science & Nutrition - Mrs Bourne (m.bourne@dittonparkacademy.co.uk)

French - Miss Grantham (e.grantham@dittonparkacademy.co.uk)

Mathematics and Further Mathematics - Mr White (i.white@dittonparkacademy.co.uk)

Geography - Mrs Gilliam - (k.gilliam@dittonparkacademy.co.uk)

Government & Politics - Mr Oliva (a.oliva@dittonparkacademy.co.uk)

History - Miss Shimmons - (j.shimmons@dittonparkacademy.co.uk)

Media Studies - Mrs Khushi (m.khushi@dittonparkacademy.co.uk)

Music - Dr Lockley (g.lockley@dittonparkacademy.co.uk)

Photography - Mrs Wanford (r.wanford@dittonparkacademy.co.uk)

Physical Education - Miss Williams (l.williams@dittonparkacademy.co.uk)

Physics - Ms Hayer (j.hayer@dittonparkacademy.co.uk)

Psychology - Mr Brunton (r.brunton@dittonparkacademy.co.uk)

Cambridge Tech IT - Mrs Ndugutu (s.ndugutu@dittonparkacademy.co.uk)

BTEC Applied Science - Ms Hayer (j.hayer@dittonparkacademy.co.uk)

BTECT National Diploma Business Studies - Mrs Khushi (m.khushi@dittonparkacademy.co.uk)

BTEC Sport Level 3 - Miss Williams (l.williams@dittonparkacademy.co.uk) 

  1. Familiarise yourself with the DPA Sixth Form Admissions Process. This outlines the criteria that will be used in deciding which applicants will be prioritised places.
  1. GCSE Results Day and Enrolment Day will take place on Thursday 20th August 2020. We will communicate more information about timings in due course.

For enrolment day you will need to bring with you:

  • Your GCSE results.
  • Your transition work to have been submitted and checked by DPA Sixth Form subject teachers.
  • To have completed several enrolment documents (these will be made available on the DPA website under the Sixth Form admissions area).
  • Photographic ID

If you have further questions, please email Ms Khuram, our DPA Sixth Form Admissions Officer, at s.khuram@dittonparkacademy.co.uk.

Transition Work Subjects: (Click on the subject link below to find the transition work)

Art, Craft & Design

Biology

Business Studies

Chemistry

Computer Science

Design & Technology - Product Design

Drama and Theatre Studies

Economics

English Language

English Literature

Food Science & Nutrition

French

Geography

Government & Politics

History

Mathematics and Further Mathematics

Media Studies

Music

Photography

Physical Education

Physics

Psychology

Cambridge Technical IT (L3)

BTEC Applied Science (L3)

BTEC National Diploma Business Studies (L3)

BTEC Sport Level 3 Extended Certificate/Foundation Diploma